Law Library Electronic Resources
The following resources on the University of Iowa Law Library Electronic Resources page should be helpful when researching international law issues.
- Harvard Research in International Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowA digitized version of Harvard Research in International Law, a series of draft international conventions originally published in the American Journal of International Law between 1929 and 1939. The collection also provides access to the series Contemporary Analysis and Appraisal, which analyzes the basis of the proposed conventions and their continuing impact today.
- History of International Law Collection (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to full text PDF images of over 500 titles and 550,000 pages of materials dating back to 1690 on subjects such as war & peace, the Nuremberg Trials, law of the sea, International arbitration, the Hague Conferences and Conventions, and much more. It includes classic books from famous authors such as Hans Kelsen, Samuel Pufendorf and James Brown Scott. It includes significant serials such as the International Law Studies Series [U.S. Naval War College], International Conciliation, Studies in Transnational Legal Policy, and many others. In addition, researchers will find links to scholarly articles discussing the history of international law and a bibliography of other works.
- International Legal Agreements (ILM) in the Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline)Published bimonthly since 1962, the ILM includes selected primary documents (such as treaties,conventions, and judicial decisions) dealing with public international law. Also available in print at Law Library JX68 .I54.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new windowThis resource is a fully revised version of the 1992 print edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law. This edition contains 1,700 articles and includes over 700 new topics not addressed in the previous edition. It also expands coverage in the areas of international criminal law, international dispute settlement, trade law, and environmental law. It is part of Oxford's Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law. Access to this title is via a combined database called Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law. To search this title, enter search words and filter by "Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law."
- Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction (Oxford University Press)Provides access to decisions and awards from the International Court of Justice (current United Nations-affiliated court); Permanent Court of International Justice (League of Nations-affiliated court); Permanent Court of Arbitration; International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea. Some of these decisions may be available in print;see the tab "Primary Law Print Resources" found in this LibGuide.
- Oxford Reports on International Criminal Law (Oxford University Press)Provides information on current and previous causes of action from the International Criminal Court; the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia; the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda; the Special Court for Sierra Leone. Some of these decisions may be available in print; see the tab "Primary Law Print Resources" found in this LibGuide.
- Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law (Oxford University Press)Access to decisions and documentation from the European Court of Human Rights; Inter-American Court of Human Rights; and many inter-governmental (such as United Nations) commissions and committees on human rights. Some of these decisions may be available in print; please see the tab "Primary Law Print Resources" in this LibGuide.
- Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts (Oxford University Press)This resource reports decisions or summaries of decisions from domestic courts which apply internaitonal law domestically. Professional translations are provided for non-English language materials. In addition, selected scholarly commentaries are included. Some of these decisions (as opposed to the editorial enhancements) may be available in print; please see the tab "Primary Law Print Resources" in this LibGuide.
- Oxford Scholarship Online-Law Collection (Oxford University Press)Full access to selected Oxford University Press treatises on a variety of public international law topics. Some of these items are available in the Law Library in print.
