Skip to main content

Law Library User's Guide: Collections

A guide to the services, collections, locations, policies and rules of the Law Library.

Faculty Collection

The Law Library maintains a non-circulating copy of the College of Law faculty's writings. The collection contains both published and unpublished materials. Items in this collection are designated in the InfoHawk record by the letters "FC," followed by the faculty member's name. The Faculty Collection is mainly housed in the display cases near the Administrative offices of the law school. There may be duplicates of law faculty writings in the library’s circulating collection. Check InfoHawk or ask a library staff member.

Federal

Federal primary law materials are housed exclusively on Level 2; these materials include the Code of Federal Regulations, the United States Code, United States Code Annotated, and Code Service, all of the federal courts’ reporters, the federal digests, and the Court of Claims reports.

Iowa Collection

The Iowa collection is shelved on Level 2 to provide a more convenient location for local users of Iowa law. It is as comprehensive as possible, with primary and secondary law materials, as well as government reports and continuing legal education materials.

Reference Collection

A reference collection of almanacs, encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, yearbooks, and so forth, is located on Level 2 near the elevator.

Reserve Collection

Reserve items are located behind the Circulation Desk. Student-oriented single volume horn-books, some multi-volume legal treatises, and other heavily used books may be found there. Materials on reserve may be identified using InfoHawk. Reserve items are generally available for use within the library for a period of four hours.

Faculty may place specific items on reserve for their courses. These “course reserve” items may be requested by the name of the professor or by the course. In addition, some law school examinations from prior semesters are held on reserve under the professor’s name, in addition to them being available via ICON, the university’s web-based course management system.

State Collection

The Law Library collects legal materials from the 50 states and the District of Columbia, along with United States Territories. These materials are housed on Level 3, with the exception of Iowa materials.

U.S. Government Documents / Iowa Documents / U.N. Documents

U.S. Government Documents are shelved on Level G. The Law Library is a selective member of the Federal Depository Library Program. These collections are available to anyone having need of them. Document call numbers and locations can be accessed on InfoHawk. Iowa documents can be accessed and/or located through InfoHawk. The Roy J. Carver United Nations

Documents Collection contains microforms of most available UN documents since the founding of that organization. All documents microfiche and other non-print materials are located in Special Services, Room 130 (see the tab for Special Services).