Law, Lawyers & Popular Culture Collections: DVD

Introducing the DVD Collection

Select

The Law, Lawyers & Popular Culture DVD Collection, informally known as Lex Populi, consists of feature films and documentaries in all genres. However, for a DVD to be included in the collection, it must meet one of the following criteria:

  • Contains a significant trial scene;
  • Has a lawyer as a significant character;
  • Focuses on a current legal “hot topic;”
  • Explores a socio-legal theme; or,
  • Depicts a story about the law, legal systems, or legal education.

Search

To find a movie by title, click on the alphabetical tabs from the drop-down menu bar.

You also can search the InfoHawk Catalog by title, keyword, or subject.

Adobe Acrobat PDF document Instructions for searching the "Law Film, Law, Lawyers & Popular Culture" DVD collection.

Borrow

Circulation of the DVD collection is limited to members of the law school community (law students, faculty, and staff). Users may borrow up to three DVDs at one time, for a period of seven days. DVDs are checked out from Special Services in Room 130. When leaving the library, users must have circulation staff hand the DVDs around the security gate. DVDs must be returned only to the Circulation Desk or Special Services in Room 130.

InfoHawk Catalog

John Grisham Movies : A Time to Practice

John Grisham headshotOne of the most prolific writers of legal-practice fictional genre, John Grisham, was born in Jonesboro, Arkansas. As a child, he dreamed of becoming a professional baseball player. In reality, he majored in accounting at Mississippi State University and went to law school graduating from Ole Miss in 1981. He practiced law for nearly a decade specializing in criminal defense and personal injury litigation. Drawing from his work experience, and influenced by the novels of William Faulkner and John Steinbeck, John Grisham became a writer.

To date, John Grisham has published 26 novels of which of which eight have been adapted into major motion films. The number of award-winning actors and directors who have been drawn to his work is astounding.

Frances Ford Coppola, Sydney Pollack, Robert Altman, James Foley, Tom Cruise, Susan Sarandon, Julie Roberts, Tommy Lee Jones, Matthew McConaughey, Samuel L. Jackson, Sandra Bullock, Denzel Washington, Gene Hackman, Faye Dunaway, Matt Damon, Jon Voight, Daryl Hannah, Robert Duvall, Dustin Hoffman, Rachel Weisz

The complete collection of John Grisham’s thrilling action movies can be checked out from the Law, Lawyers & Popular Culture Collection in the library.