Resource Symbol Key
Password required
CD-ROM resource
Public Access
Available in Print
Available on Microform
Westlaw
Lexis Advance
Bloomberg Law
Introduction
Public international law is primarily the "law of nations," i.e., the rules that govern relations among nations. However, beginning in the 19th century public international law expanded to include quasi-governmental organizations (such as the International Committee of the Red Cross). In the twentieth century public international law expanded to include intergovernmental organizations such as the League of Nations and the United Nations, and non-governmental organizations like Doctors Without Borders.
Getting Started
Selected Primers on Public International Law:
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new windowThis resource is a fully revised version of the 1992 print edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law. This edition contains 1,700 articles and includes over 700 new topics not addressed in the previous edition. It also expands coverage in the areas of international criminal law, international dispute settlement, trade law, and environmental law. It is part of Oxford's Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law. Access to this title is via a combined database called Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law. To search this title, enter search words and filter by "Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law."
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International AgreementsIn print at Law Reference JX1977 .O8213 2003.
- Parry & Grant Encyclopedic Dictionary of International LawIn print at Law Reference KZ1161 .P33 2009.
Contact Us
Reference Office:
319-335-9005
Send Email
Circulation Desk:
319-335-9002
Send Email
Interlibrary Loan:
319-335-9002
Requests
Study Aids
Public International Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: Law Reserve KZ3410 .B84 2013