This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Religion and Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion and Law  

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.law.uiowa.edu/religionandlaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resource Symbol Key

UI Access Only University of Iowa access
Law Access Only University of Iowa College of Law access
Password Required Password required; see a Reference Librarian
CD-ROM CD-ROM resource; see a Reference Librarian
Public Access Public Access
Available in Print Available in Print
Available on Microform Available on Microform
Westlaw - Password Required Westlaw/WestlawNext-Password Required
Lexis - Password Required Lexis/Advance-Password Required
Bloomberg Law-Password Required
 

Introduction

This "Religion and Law" guide provides a brief introduction to resources introducing religious legal systems.  It also lists introductory materials on law and religion as they specifically relate to United States constitutional law. 

In addition, a select list of resources on "personal status" laws is provided.  "Personal status laws" deal with law as it affects women or religious minorities, mainly in Muslim or other creed-based legal systems.  

All materials in this guide were selected with the goal of helping students begin their research.  The University of Iowa, its College of Law, and its Law Library do not endorse any religion or jurisdiction found in this guide.  We are merely providing assorted aids for starting research on the topic of religion and law.  The resources found in this guide are merely selective and not exhaustive.

For detailed coverage of the internal workings of Christian ecclesiastical law (Catholic, Orthodox, Anglican, Lutheran, Calvinist/Reformed/Methodist, and Latter-day Saints), please see the UIowa Law Library research guide on Canon Law.

Getting Started

The following webpages provide good resources for starting research in religion and the law:

  • CIA World Factbook  Icon
  • Country Watch  Icon
    CountryReviews, an up-to-date series of publications for each country including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information; CountryWire, which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world as well as a significant news archive; and statistical data sets that allows the creation of customized charts.
  • GlobaLex: Religious Legal Systems in Comparative Law: A Guide to Introductory Research  Icon
  • JuriGlobe: World Legal Systems  Icon
    Includes classifications of countries according to legal systems and international linguistic areas. Provides good delineation of those countries with "mixed" religious/secular legal systems, or with purely religious legal systems. Also provides general bibliography on comparative and foreign law.
 

Contact Us

Reference Desk

Reference Desk:
319-335-9005
Send Email (UI faculty, staff, students only)

Circulation Desk:
319-335-9002

Special Services/Audiovisual:
319-335-9037

Interlibrary Loan:
319-335-9015 or 319-335-9002

University of Iowa Law Library - 200 Boyd Law Library - Iowa City, IA 52242-1166
© The University of Iowa 2014. All rights reserved - Nondiscrimination Statement

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip