Skip to main content

Law Library User's Guide: About the Library

A guide to the services, collections, locations, policies and rules of the Law Library.

Hours

Law Library Hours

The library is closed on three holidays: Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day. Other holiday and interim hours will be posted.

Nondiscrimination Statement

University of Iowa Nondiscrimination Statement

The University of Iowa does not discriminate in employment or in its educational programs and activities on the basis of race, national origin, color, religion, sex, age, disability, or veteran status. The University also affirms its commitment to providing equal opportunities and equal access to University facilities without reference to affectional or associational preferences. For additional information on nondiscrimination policies, contact the Coordinator of Title IX, Section 504, and the ADA in the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity, telephone (319) 335-0705, 202 Jessup Hall, the University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa, 52242-1316.

Introduction

Welcome to the University of Iowa Law Library, in its fourth home on the UI campus. In 1868, the original Law Library and Law School were housed in Old Capitol. They later moved to what is now Gilmore Hall and from there to the old Law Center (since demolished to make way for the College of Public Health). In 1986, the Law Library and College of Law moved into the Boyd Law Building.

The library has been designed, and its collection arranged, to provide you with easy access to legal materials. With minor exceptions, the collection of the library is arranged according to the Library of Congress classification system. Under the Library of Congress system, materials are categorized according to subject matter. In addition, all state legal materials are shelved together by jurisdiction. United States Government Documents are shelved in the east section of Level G. All foreign and international materials are shelved together on Level G. Computers, CD-ROMs, and the latest in audiovisual and microform equipment are available in this library. Maps of the library and location charts are included in this guide to assist you in locating materials.

For your convenience, a map of the collection, along with a description of essential services is available in print near the Circulation Desk.

 

Library Facts

The Law Library collection contains over 1.33 million volumes and volume equivalents, covering a broad range of Anglo-American, foreign, international and comparative law materials. The library's holdings of materials on the law of the United States and all of its states and territories, Great Britain, and the present and former members of the British Commonwealth of Nations are among the most comprehensive in the United States. Among all law school libraries in the United States, this library is the second largest in terms of volumes and volume equivalents, and second largest in individually cataloged titles. Since 1968, the library has been a selective United States Government Documents Depository. In addition, the library receives state government publications as a full depository member of the Iowa Document Depository program which began in 1979. In 1994, the library established the Roy J. Carver United Nations Collection which contains a complete microform archive of all available United Nations documents from the UN's founding to the present.

The Law Library is a research library, which means many materials do not circulate outside the building. Policies concerning circulation are contained in this guide. Please consult with library staff members when you have any questions concerning the library and its use.

Contact Us

Reference Desk

Reference Desk:
319-335-9005
Send Email (UI faculty, staff, students only)

Circulation Desk:
319-335-9002

Special Services/Audiovisual:
319-335-9037

Interlibrary Loan:
319-335-9015 or 319-335-9002

Library Mission

The primary missions of the Law Library are to support the teaching and research activities of the faculty and students of the law school and to provide legal materials to the University community--faculty, staff and students--at large. When not conflicting with its primary missions, the Law Library is also committed to serving the needs of the State of Iowa judiciary, legal profession, legislature, and the general public.