Laws
Federal
To locate U.S. Code sections on your topic, consult the index to one of the federal annotated codes. Sources include:
- United States CodeAvailable in print at Law Core Collection (Level Two) Y 1.2/5:2018. Law Core Collection (Level Two) Y 1.2/5:2018.
- United States Code AnnotatedWest's annotated U.S. Code, also available in print at Law Core Collection (Level Two) KF62 1927 .W48.
- United States Code Service
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Lexis' annotated U.S. Code, also available in print at Law Core Collection (Level Two)
KF62 1972 .L38 .
State
Many aspects of property law are governed by statutes, particularly state statutes. To locate relevant statutes, use the General Index in the jurisdiction's annotated code. For search terms, start with Real Property, Real Estate, or the specific legal issue you are researching, such as Adverse Possession or Quieting Title.
The print version of the state statutory codes are located on the 3rd Floor of the Law Library.
Regulations
Federal
To locate federal regulations on your topic, consult the index to the Code of Federal Regulations. Sources include:
- Code of Federal RegulationsFrom GovInfo.gov. Also available in print at Law Library Core Collection (Level Two).
The Federal Register provides a chronological listing of proposed and final regulations, notices, and selected presidential documents. Sources include:
- Federal RegisterAlso available online through HeinOnline or in print at Law Core Collection (Level 2) AE 2.106.
- FederalRegister.govFederalRegister.gov provides a more visuall-appealing and user-friendly interface for the Federal Register.
- Federal Register: HeinOnlineThe Federal Register provides chronological status to federal administrative regulations. Also available online through GovInfo.gov or in print at Law Library 2nd Floor Core AE 2.106.
State
A few aspects of property law may be governed by administrative regulations. To locate relevant regulations, locate the jurisdiction's administrative code in print or on the internet and look for an index, a table of contents, and/or a search engine. For search terms, start with Real Property, Real Estate, or the specific legal issue you are researching.
The print version of the state administrative codes are shelved on the 3rd Floor with the state materials.
- State Administrative Codes & Registers LinksFrom the Administrative Codes & Registers Section of the National Association of Secretaries of State, U.S.A.