Locating Books & Treatises
Most of the Law Library’s books and treatises relating to labor & employment are located on the 1st Floor in the KF 3302-KF 3673 call number area. Use InfoHawk, the Law Library's online catalog, to search for labor & employment related materials (see tutorial below).
Key treatises on labor & employment include:
-
The Developing Labor Law: the Board, the Courts, and the National Labor Relations ActOlder edition available in print at Law Library KF3369 .A76 2017.
-
Employment Law (Rothstein)In print at Law Reserve KF3318 .R682 2019.
Also available through West Academic Study Aids. -
How Arbitration WorksIn print at Law Library KF3424 .E53 2016.
Also available through Bloomberg Law. -
Labor and Employment Law: Compliance and LitigationAlso available in print at Law Library KF3319 .G63 2006.
-
Employment Discrimination LawAvailable in print at Law Library KF3464 .S34 2020.
Also available through Bloomberg Law. -
International Labor and Employment LawsOlder edition in print at Law Library K1705 .I54 2018.
Current Awareness
Current awareness services focus on current issues and trends. They are a good source of details regarding newly decided cases and current laws.
-
VitalLaw (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text primary and secondary materials in the areas of human resource management, payroll, pensions, benefits, employment law, OSHA, health care reimbursement, corporate governance, mergers & acquisitions, intellectual property, government contracts, antitrust and trade regulation, and transportation law.
Searching InfoHawk+
You can use InfoHawk+, the University of Iowa's discovery tool, to search for relevant materials. For help using InfoHawk+ or locating items in the Law Library or other University of Iowa Libraries, try any of these resources:
- InfoHawk+ Tutorials
- InfoHawk+ Videos
- InfoHawk+ FAQ
- Help Files for Primo (the system that runs InfoHawk+)
Locating Journal Articles
-
Labor & Employment - Law Reviews, Texts & Bar JournalsContains documents from texts and periodicals that relate to Labor and Employment Law.
-
Key labor and employment journals include:
-
University of Pennsylvania Journal of Labor and Employment LawAlso available in print at Law Library K25 .N688.
Recent Books on Labor and Employment Topics
-
Employment Discrimination
by
Call Number: Law Library KF3464 .E439 2022 -
Feminist Judgments
by
Call Number: Law Library KF3467 .F46 2020
Locating General Journal Articles
Law journal articles may be found using an index to legal periodical literature. Three of the most widely used law journal indexes are the Index to Legal Periodicals, the Legal Scholarship Network, and LegalTrac. Each database provides multiple fields to search, including title, author, subject and keyword.
Once you have identified potentially relevant articles, use the print journal, Hein Online, JSTOR or another full-text database to retrieve the article(s). HeinOnline and JSTOR provide access to legal and non-legal journal literature, respectively. Both provide .PDF versions of articles, as well as search functionality. They are particularly useful for retrieving items with specific citations.
-
Legal Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database combines access to EBSCO's Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (1981-present) and Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981), with access to more than 500 full-text journals not available in either of the Index to Legal Periodicals modules, and access to more than 100 full-text journals, many published in Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand, that have not been previously available in any database. In full, Legal Source provides access to more than 880 full-text journals, with indexing (using the "Advanced Search") by title, author(s), subjects, court cases, statutes, books reviewed, languages, etc.
-
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Indexes selected legal periodicals and essay collections published worldwide since 1960. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative law, and foreign law, in all key jurisdictions.
-
LegalTrac (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals with coverage beginning in 1980. It also covers law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues, the JSTOR database does not include issues for the most recent 3 to 5 years. Consult the online tables of contents for specific holdings information as coverage varies for each title.