Locating Books & Treatises
Most of the Law Library’s books and treatises relating to intellectual property law topics are located on the 1st Floor in the KF 2972 - KF 3197 call number area. Books and treatises specific to your state jurisdiction are located on the 3rd Floor. You can use InfoHawk, the Library's catalog, to search for specific titles (see tutorial below).
Key treatises on intellectual property law topics include:
- Chisum on Patents: A Treatise on the Law of Patentability, Validity, and InfringementAlso available in print at call number Law Library KF3114 .C47 1978.
- Gilson on Trademarks
- Milgrim on LicensingAlso available in print at call number Law Library KF3180 .M3 1996.
- Milgrim on Trade SecretsAlso available in print at Law Library KF3197 .M55.
- McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair CompetitionAlso available in print at Law Library KF3180 .M3 2017.
Locating General Journal Articles
Law journal articles may be found using an index to legal periodical literature. Three of the most widely used law journal indexes are the Index to Legal Periodicals, the Legal Scholarship Network, and LegalTrac. Each database provides multiple fields to search, including title, author, subject and keyword.
Once you have identified potentially relevant articles, use the print journal, Hein Online, JSTOR or another full-text database to retrieve the article(s). HeinOnline and JSTOR provide access to legal and non-legal journal literature, respectively. Both provide .PDF versions of articles, as well as search functionality. They are particularly useful for retrieving items with specific citations.
- Legal Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database combines access to EBSCO's Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (1981-present) and Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981), with access to more than 500 full-text journals not available in either of the Index to Legal Periodicals modules, and access to more than 100 full-text journals, many published in Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand, that have not been previously available in any database. In full, Legal Source provides access to more than 880 full-text journals, with indexing (using the "Advanced Search") by title, author(s), subjects, court cases, statutes, books reviewed, languages, etc.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Indexes selected legal periodicals and essay collections published worldwide since 1960. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative law, and foreign law, in all key jurisdictions.
- LegalTrac (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals with coverage beginning in 1980. It also covers law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues, the JSTOR database does not include issues for the most recent 3 to 5 years. Consult the online tables of contents for specific holdings information as coverage varies for each title.
Locating Journal Articles
- Key Intellectual Property journals and current awareness newsletters include:
- DePaul Journal of Art, Technology & Intellectual Property LawAlso available in print at Law Library K10 .O755.
- Fordham Intellectual Property, Media & Entertainment Law JournalAlso available in print at Law Library K6 .O7.
- Managing Intellectual PropertySee reference librarian for password. Also available in print at Law Library K1401.A15 M26.
- Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal (Bloomberg Law)Volumes prior to 2019 in print at Law Library KF3091.A3 P37.
- Tulane Journal of Technology and Intellectual PropertyAlso available in print at Law Library K24 .U537.
- University of Baltimore Intellectual Property Law JournalAlso available in print at Law Library K25 .N388.
Current Awareness
- Trademark Law Emerging Issues Analysis
Searching InfoHawk+
You can use InfoHawk+, the University of Iowa's discovery tool, to search for relevant materials. For help using InfoHawk+ or locating items in the Law Library or other University of Iowa Libraries, try any of these resources:
- InfoHawk+ Tutorials
- InfoHawk+ Videos
- InfoHawk+ FAQ
- Help Files for Primo (the system that runs InfoHawk+)