Library Special Collections
- State Historical Society of Iowa Libraries - Iowa City and Des MoinesCatalog shows only a small percentage of total holdings. For services and hours go to the Society's website.
- University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections and Archives, Main LibraryThe University Archives include papers and correspondence from the College of Law as well as the University’s student newspapers, which can shed light on Law School events. Among the collections of historical papers are those of many Iowa political leaders and groups, lawyers, and judges. Some records for Special Collections are in the InfoHawk catalog, while others are available in the Special Collections area.
County Histories
The University and State Historical Society Libraries have a series of histories of Iowa Counties written in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, many of which have been reprinted. These may be useful for finding biographical information on local officeholders and attorneys.
- History of Johnson County, Iowa, Containing a History of the County, and Its Townships, Cities and Villages from 1836 to 1882Available in print at Law Library F627.J6 H6 1973.
- Drake Digital Collections: Selected County HistoriesSelected county histories are available online through a collection at Iowa State University.
Iowa Legal Histories
- Law in Early Iowa: One AdventureIn Adventures of the Law : Proceedings of the Sixteenth British Legal History Conference, Dublin, 2003, at 246. Available in print at Law Library K555.B7 A38 2003.
Bibliographies
- Iowa History and Culture : A Bibliography of Materials Published Between 1952 and 1986Available in print at Main Reference Collection FOLIO Z1283 .D38 1989.
- Iowa History and Culture : A Bibliography of Materials Published from 1987 Through 1991Publishedin 52 Annals of Iowa nos. 2, 3, 4 (1993). Available in print at Law Library K1 .N624.
Books
- History of Iowa from the Earliest Times to the Beginnings of the Twentieth CenturyAvailable in print at Law Library F621 .G92.