Locating Books & Treatises
Most of the Law Library's books and treatises relating to foreign law are found on the Ground Floor. Use InfoHawk, the Law Library's online catalog, to search for relevant materials.
The following are introductions to the laws of selected foreign jurisdictions:
- The Australian Legal System: History, Institutions and MethodAvailable in print at Law Library KU68 .H56 2008.
- German Public Takeover Law: Bilingual Edition With an Introduction to the LawAvailable in print at Law Library KK2628 .A28 2007.
- Towards Legal Literacy: An Introduction to Law in IndiaAvailable in print at Law Library KNS72 .T68 2008.
- The Court and the Constitution of India: Summits and ShallowsAvailable in print at Law Library KNS2244 .C55 2008.
- Doing Business in India: Critical Legal Issues for U.S. CompaniesAvailable in print at Law Library KNS78.B87 D65 2007.
- Korean Business Law: The Legal Landscape and BeyondAvailable in print at Law Library KPA78.B87 K669 2010.
Locating Journal Articles
- Selected foreign law journals:
Locating General Journal Articles
Law journal articles may be found using an index to legal periodical literature. Three of the most widely used law journal indexes are the Index to Legal Periodicals, the Legal Scholarship Network, and LegalTrac. Each database provides multiple fields to search, including title, author, subject and keyword.
Once you have identified potentially relevant articles, use the print journal, Hein Online, JSTOR or another full-text database to retrieve the article(s). HeinOnline and JSTOR provide access to legal and non-legal journal literature, respectively. Both provide .PDF versions of articles, as well as search functionality. They are particularly useful for retrieving items with specific citations.
- Legal Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database combines access to EBSCO's Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (1981-present) and Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981), with access to more than 500 full-text journals not available in the either of the Index to Legal Periodicals modules, and access to more than 100 full-text journals, many published in Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand, that have not been previously available in any database. In full, Legal Source provides access to more than 880 full-text journals, with indexing (using the "Advanced Search") by title, author(s), subjects, court cases, statutes, books reviewed, languages, etc.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowIndexes selected legal periodicals and essay collections published worldwide since 1960. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative law, and foreign law, in all key jurisdictions.
- LegalTrac (Gale) This link opens in a new windowIndexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals with coverage beginning in 1980. It also covers law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues, the JSTOR database does not include issues for the most recent 3 to 5 years. Consult the online tables of contents for specific holdings information as coverage varies for each title.
- Lexis: Law Reviews and Journals
This link opens in a new window
