UIowa Law Library Electronic Resources
Web versions of bilateral treaties to which the United States is NOT a party may or may not be easy to find, depending on the following factors:
- English language treaties--is the treaty available in English?
- Small countries--is the treaty between small countries?
- Old bilateral treaties--is this an old treaty between two countries, neither of which is the USA?
The following resources on the University of Iowa Law Library Electronic Resources page may be helpful when researching bilateral treaties where the USA is NOT a party:
- Kluwer Arbitration This link opens in a new windowPermits searchable, full text access to primary source materials and analytical commentary relating to international arbitration including over 500 laws, 5,000 court decisions, 1,750 arbitral awards, and 1,700 bilateral investment treaties. It also provides access to the International Council for Commercial Arbitration's International Handbook on Commercial Arbitration and ICCA Congress Series, as well as the Institute for Transnational Arbitration's Monthly Report.
- Treaties & Agreements Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to published and unpublished treaties drawn from: the Statutes at Large; United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST); Treaties and International Act Series (TIAS); KAV Agreements; Indian Affairs, Laws, and Treaties; International Legal Materials; and more. This collection also contains related books and texts including the American Diplomatic Code and the Department of State Bulletin.
Web Resources-Publicly Accessible
- Canadian Treaty Information This link opens in a new windowThis website contains information on the status of bilateral and multilateral treaties affecting Canada. The records provide particulars such as the date and place of signature; the dates of tabling in, or approval by, Parliament; the dates of ratification, accession, entry into force and termination; its relation to other treaty instruments; details of such implementing legislation as might be required; judicial interpretations; and references to published texts. In some instances, the record contains a link to the full text of the treaty.
- International Treaties CollectionIncludes selected bilateral treaties of English-speaking or partly English-speaking countries. World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)