See Also
Tort law is a broad area. To find more specific secondary sources, check out this additional research guide:
Locating Books & Treatises
Most of the Law Library’s books and treatises relating to torts are located on the 1st Floor beginning with call number KF 1249. Books and treatises specific to your state jurisdiction are located on the 3rd Floor. Use InfoHawk, the Law Library's online catalog, to search for relevant materials.
Iowa books and treatises on torts include:
- General treatises and materials on torts include:
- Modern Tort Law: Liability and Litigation 2dAlso available in print at call number Law Library KF1250 .D6 2019.
- Tort Law Desk Reference: A Fifty-State CompendiumAvailable in print at call number Law Library KF1250.Z95 T6.
Restatement of the Law: Torts
- Restatement of the Law: TortsA treatise containing the complete text of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Restatements of Torts and covers all major areas of tort law.
- Restatement of the Law Third, Torts: Liability for Physical and Emotional Harm
This link opens in a new window
- Restatement of the Law Third, Torts: Products Liability
- This link opens in a new window
- Restatement of the Law Third, Torts: Products LiabilityIn print at call number Law Core Collection (Level Two) KF1249.A4 A465 1998.
- Restatement of the Law Third, Torts: Apportionment of LiabilityIn print at call number Law Core Collection (Level Two) KF1249.A6 R473 2000.
- Restatement of the Law Third, Torts: Liability for Physical and Emotional HarmIn print at call number Law Core Collection (Level Two) KF1249.A6 R473 2000.
- Restatement of the Law Second, TortsIn print at Law Core Collection (Level Two) KF1249.A6 R473 2000.
Searching InfoHawk+
You can use InfoHawk+, the University of Iowa's discovery tool, to search for relevant materials. For help using InfoHawk+ or locating items in the Law Library or other University of Iowa Libraries, try any of these resources:
- InfoHawk+ Tutorials
- InfoHawk+ Videos
- InfoHawk+ FAQ
- Help Files for Primo (the system that runs InfoHawk+)
Tort Law Journals and Articles
- Tort Law - Law Reviews, Texts & Bar JournalsDocuments from law reviews, texts, CLE course materials, bar journals, and legal practice-oriented periodicals that relate to civil actions for injuries intentionally or negligently caused to persons or property.
- Tort-specific journals and newsletters include:
Current Awareness
- Westlaw Topical Highlights: Products LiabilityDocuments prepared by the West editorial staff that summarize recent developments in products liability law.
- Product Safety & Liability Reporter (Bloomberg BNA)Analyzes legislative proposals, regulatory changes, agency actions, and court decisions relating to product safety and liability.
Locating General Journal Articles
Law journal articles may be found using an index to legal periodical literature. Three of the most widely used law journal indexes are the Index to Legal Periodicals, the Legal Scholarship Network, and LegalTrac. Each database provides multiple fields to search, including title, author, subject and keyword.
Once you have identified potentially relevant articles, use the print journal, Hein Online, JSTOR or another full-text database to retrieve the article(s). HeinOnline and JSTOR provide access to legal and non-legal journal literature, respectively. Both provide .PDF versions of articles, as well as search functionality. They are particularly useful for retrieving items with specific citations.
- Legal Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database combines access to EBSCO's Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (1981-present) and Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981), with access to more than 500 full-text journals not available in either of the Index to Legal Periodicals modules, and access to more than 100 full-text journals, many published in Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand, that have not been previously available in any database. In full, Legal Source provides access to more than 880 full-text journals, with indexing (using the "Advanced Search") by title, author(s), subjects, court cases, statutes, books reviewed, languages, etc.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Indexes selected legal periodicals and essay collections published worldwide since 1960. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative law, and foreign law, in all key jurisdictions.
- LegalTrac (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals with coverage beginning in 1980. It also covers law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues, the JSTOR database does not include issues for the most recent 3 to 5 years. Consult the online tables of contents for specific holdings information as coverage varies for each title.
- Lexis: Law Reviews and Journals
- This link opens in a new window
