Historical Resources
- Harris, K. David and Ewert, Dave M., "Judicial System. I. History of Iowa’s Courts"In Iowa Legal Research Guide at 65 (2003). Available in print at Law Library KFI4275 .E339 2003.
- History of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Iowa, 1882-2000Available in print at Law Library KFI4278 .M25 2003.
- No One Is Above the Law : The Story of Southern Iowa’s Federal CourtAvailable in print at Law Library KFI4278 .M55 1994.
- Iowa Federal and State Court : Yesterday - Today - TomorrowAvailable in print at Law Library KFI4710 .P48 1995.
- Wennerstrum, Charles F., "Historical Development of the Judicial System in Iowa"In 40 Iowa Code Annotated (1950), at 73-107. Available in print at Law Library KF 4230 1946 .A44.
Cases
- Iowa Cases (1839 - present)Supreme Court of the Territory of Iowa: 1839 - 1846
Supreme Court: begins with 1847
Court of Appeals: begins with 1977 - Iowa State Cases (1839 - present)IA Court of Appeals Cases from 1977
IA Supreme Court Cases from 1839
Use filters to narrow to Iowa cases.
Briefs and Motions
- Records and Briefs for Cases before the Supreme Court of Iowa: 1858-2006Available in print in Law Compact Storage (Ground Floor) at Law Library KFI 4245; collection incomplete.
- Records and Briefs for Cases before the Iowa Court of Appeals (1980-2008)Available in print in Law Compact Storage (Ground Floor) at Law Library KFI 4248.9; collection incomplete.
- Iowa Courts OnlineAvailable online through the Iowa Government.
Iowa trial and appellate court docketing information. - Iowa Briefs Multibase (1994 - present)Briefs filed with the Iowa Supreme Court in cases that may be heard by either the Supreme Court of Iowa or the Court of Appeals of Iowa. Coverage beginning with 1994.
- Iowa State Briefs and Motions (2000 - present)Contains a variety of Iowa state cases which include the supreme and appeals court levels. Use filters to narrow to Iowa court documents.
- Index to the Iowa Appellate Court Briefs This link opens in a new window
Searchable index of Iowa Supreme Court and Court of Appeals abstracts and arguments (briefs and appendices) from the October term 1870 to the Spring term of 2008. Search by case name, docket number, legal citation, date, or volume number.
Finding Aids
- West's North Western Digest (1836 - 1932)At call number Law Core Collection (Level Three) KF135 .N71.
North Western Reporter
- West’s North Western Reporter (1879 - present)At call number Law Core Collection (Level Three) KF135 .N7 1942. Contains cases from multiple states, coverage varies by state. Comprises two series: N.W. and N.W.2d.
- West's North Western Reporter (1879 - present)Contains cases from multiple states, coverage varies by state.
- West’s North Western Digest 2d (1932 - present)At call number Law Core Collection (Level Three) KF135 .N71 1970
- West's North Western Digest (1836 - 1932)At call number Law Core Collection (Level Three) KF135 .N71.