Historical Materials
- Applied History SeriesAvailable in print at Law Library HC107.I7 A6. Multiple volumes on historical subjects: v. 1: road legislation, regulation of urban utilities, primary elections, corrupt practices legislation, work accident indemnity, tax administration; v. 2: reorganization of state government, home rule, direct legislation, selection and removal of public officials, civil service, child labor legislation, welfare legislation; v. 3: "Statute Law-Making in Iowa;" v. 4: "County Government and Administration in Iowa;" v. 5, 6: "Municipal Government and Administration in Iowa"
- Official Directory of the Legislature, State of IowaHistorical volumes available in print at Law Library JK6330 .A261.
- Loth, Alan, "An Outline of Iowa Codes, Compilations and Revisions"In 3 Iowa Code Annotated (1949), at 129-145. Reprinted in vol. 3 (1967). Available in print at Law Library KF 4230 1946 .A44.
- McClain, Emlin, "The Iowa Codes," 1 Iowa Law Bulletin 3 (1915)Available online from Hein Online. Also available in print at Law Library K9 .O88.
- Iowa Journal of History: History of the Codes of Iowa LawSeries of articles on historical codes. See vol. 9 (1911), pp. 493-527; vol.10 (1911), pp. 3-69, 311-362; vol.11 (1912), pp. 166-220, 364-443; vol.12 (1913), pp. 17-33. Available in print at Law Library K9 .O834.
- The Iowa General Assembly, Our Legislative Heritage, 1846-1980Available in print at Law Library JK6366 .S6.
Statutes and Codes
- Code of Iowa (1919 – present)In print at Law Library KFI4229 .I69.
Also available online through Iowa Code Archive (1839-present)Superseded Iowa Codes (1843 – 1915)Available through Making of Modern Law.
At call number Law Library KFI4230 [year] .A22.Hein's Superseded State Statutes and Codes (coverage varies)On microfiche at Law Audiovisual Microfiche 3093.Iowa CodeIowa Code Annotated available in print at call number Law Core Collection (Level Two) KFI4230 1946 .A44.Iowa Annotated Statutes
Session Laws
- Iowa Acts of the General Assembly (1838 – present)At call number Law Library KFI4225 .A2.
Also available online through the Iowa General Assembly and on microform at Law Audiovisual Microfiche 266. - Iowa Advance Legislative Service (1989 - present)Contains full text of all laws enacted during a legislative session.
- Iowa Enacted Legislation (current)Acts or enrolled joint resolutions passed by the current session of the legislature.
- Iowa Historical Enacted Legislation (1988 - 2009)Acts and resolutions passed by the Iowa legislature.
Constitution
- Iowa Constitution in Iowa Code Annotated, vol. 1/2 (1946 - present)At call number Law Library KFI4230 1946 .A44
- Iowa Annotated Statutes
- Historical Resources
- Iowa State Constitution: A Reference GuideAt call number Law Reference KFI4601 1857.A6 S73 1998 and Law Library KFI4601 1857.A6 S73 1998.
- Journal of the Iowa Constitutional Convention of 1846At call number Law Rare Book (Special Collection) KFI4601 1846 .A2.
Also available through MOML and LLMC Digital. - Fragments of the Debates of the Iowa Constitutional Conventions of 1844 and 1846Available online through MOML
- Journal of the Iowa Constitutional Convention of 1857At call number Law Library KFI4601 1857 .A22.
Also available through LLMC Digital. - Debates of the Iowa Constitutional Convention of 1857At call number Law Library KFI4601 1857 .A222.
Also available online through Also available through LLMC Digital. - Debates of the Iowa Constitutional Convention of 1857, v. 1Available online through Hathi Trust Digital Library
- Debates of the Iowa Constitutional Convention of 1857, v. 2Available online through Hathi Trust Digital Library
- History of the Constitutions of IowaAt call number Law Library JK6316 .S5 1902.
Also available through MOML.
Finding Aids
- Iowa CodeIowa Code Annotated available in print at call number Law Core Collection (Level Two) KFI4230 1946 .A44.
- Iowa Code and Acts Amended (current)Available online through the Iowa Government.
For previous years, consult the Iowa Code Archive.
