Develops standards and best practices, gathers and shares knowledge, and provides advocacy on issues of concern to the museum community. Their website includes a section on museum ethics.

A non-profit educational organization dedicated to the advancement of professional valuation in the United States. The web site contains information on the qualifications and ethical standards of the appraisal profession.

The official website of North America’s largest archaeological organization provides access to the AIA code of ethics, code of professional standards, regulations and resolutions.

This committee is composed of attorneys with an interest in art, cultural heritage and cultural property law and who work in a variety of settings including private practice, museums, government and academia. This area of law is concerned with both movable and immovable property of artistic, cultural, religious and historic interest.

The purpose of the Association of Art Museum Directors is to support its members in increasing the contribution of art museums to society. It also publishes a variety of useful position papers and reports on art and cultural property topics.

CINOA is a non-profit international federation of art and antiques dealers and associations. Their website also provides links to conventions and directives.

The Commission for Looted Art in Europe helps families, communities and institutions worldwide with research, identification and recovery of looted cultural property. Their website provides access to international policies relating to looted art such as the 1998 Washington Principles with respect to Nazi-Confiscated Art and the Terezin Declaration of June 30, 2009.

This service provides a central location for information and policies concerning heritage protection developed by individual European countries.

ICCROM is an intergovernmental organization dedicated to the conservation of cultural heritage.

ICOM is an international organization of museums and museum professionals committed to the conservation and continuation of the world's natural and cultural heritage.

ICOMOS seeks to protect cultural heritage by promoting the application of theory, methodology and scientific techniques to the conservation of architectural and archaeological heritage sites. Its work is based on the principles enshrined in the International Charter on the Conservation and Restoration of Monuments and Sites. The website provides access to charters and texts as well as PDF versions of a variety of ICOMOS publications.

Based in the UK, the Institute of Art and Law is a small independent research and educational organization that analyzes the interface between the world of art and antiquities and that of law. Their main objective is to increase public knowledge concerning the contribution of law to the development of cultural tradition. Publishes the quarterly journal Art Antiquity and Law.

IFAR is a non-profit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts. IFAR offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal and ethical issues concerning art objects.

LCCHP is a non-profit organization of lawyers and law students who promote the preservation and protection of cultural heritage resources in the United States and internationally through education and advocacy.

Provides a searchable registry of objects in 164 museum collections that changed hands in continental Europe during the Nazi era (1933 - 1945).

SAFE is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving cultural heritage worldwide.

SAA is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas. A portion of their website is devoted to repatriation issues.

VLA seeks to educate artists, cultural institutions, attorneys, students and the general public about legal and business issues that affect artistic and creative endeavors. They mediate art related disputes and advocate for the arts community. They also provide pro bono and low cost legal services to the arts community.

Through the Centre, UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage sites around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. Through the site you can access the World Heritage List, which provides information on cultural, natural and mixed properties in 148 countries that the World Heritage Committee has designated as having significant value.