Below you will find contacts for various library services you may need. If you do not see the category of service you need listed, please contact Don Ford at 319-335-9068 or donald-ford@uiowa.edu. A complete list of current Law Library staff is available through our staff directory.
For research assistance, please contact Don Ford at donald-ford@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9068 or the Law Library Reference Service at lawlib-ref@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9005.
If you would like the assistance of a law librarian on a grant or long-term project, please contact Amy Koopmann at amy-koopmann@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9823.
For questions about citation metrics or scholarly profiles, please contact Amy Koopmann at amy-koopmann@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9823.
Each fall, the Law Library offers a research training for all College of Law research assistants. This training covers the basics of accessing the Law Library's resources as a research assistant, with a focus on resources that tend to be helpful to RAs, but to which they have likely not yet been exposed.
Because this training is general in nature, it will not cover every possible resource or research technique that may be helpful to your research assistants. To arrange an individual or small group training for your research assistants that focuses on a particular topic, please contact Don Ford at donald-ford@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9068.
Law librarians are happy to visit your classes to discuss research techniques and resources that may be helpful to a particular research project or paper that students will undertake in your course.
To arrange for a law librarian to visit your course, please contact Amy Koopmann at amy-koopmann@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9823.
Law faculty can subscribe to several online current awareness services, including the Current Index to Legal Periodicals; newsletters from Bloomberg Law, Law360, and Westlaw Today; and SSRN e-journals. Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law have services that automatically run saved searches on a regular basis to assist researchers with monitoring developments in areas of interest.
If you would like assistance setting up current awareness services, please contact Don Ford at donald-ford@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9068.
The Law Library maintains a faculty bibliography of faculty members' published scholarship. As you publish new works, please contact Amy Koopmann at amy-koopmann@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9823 to arrange for inclusion in the faculty bibliography, or to recommend any changes to your bibliography page.
Faculty with donations for the faculty collection display case in the hallway by the Administrative Suite may also contact Amy. Please note that the Law Library does not handle the faculty photos in the display case.
These services are administered by the College of Law. Please contact Nilza Molina for assistance.
If you would like to post an article to SSRN for which you did not previously write an abstract, the Law Library can assist with drafting an abstract. The Law Library is also available to consult on naming your article and can provide assistance with identifying potential placements for your piece. Please contact Amy Koopmann at amy-koopmann@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9823 for more information.
To arrange to donate materials to the Law Library, please contact Erin McCroskey at erin-mccroskey@uiowa.edu.
To request a book or article from the collection, please email lawlib-doc@uiowa.edu. This email account is monitored by the Law Library's research assistants. During the summer and academic breaks, this email account is monitored by reference staff.
Typically, research assistants are able to deliver your requested items within one business day. If materials must be requested from offsite storage or through interlibrary loan, delivery will take longer and the timing will vary depending on the circumstances.
If your request is time sensitive, please copy our reference email (lawlib-ref@uiowa.edu) on your request and indicate how soon you need the material.
For circulation needs, including renewing library books, you may contact the circulation desk at lawlib-infohawk@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9002. You can also renew many materials online through your InfoHawk+ account here.
If you have any questions or issues with circulation service, please contact Austin Hankins at austin-hankins@uiowa.edu or 319-467-1726.
In advance of each semester, the Law Library distributes an electronic form to request course reserve. If you did not receive the form or have questions about course reserve, please contact Andy Stewart at andrew-m-stewart@uiowa.edu or 319-335-0756.
While the Law Library and other libraries on campus have significant collections of both print and electronic resources, you may at times require a resource we do not own, or a resource which is currently checked out by another patron. In these cases, the Law Library attempts to obtain access to the resource from another library through interlibrary loan.
You may request interlibrary loan materials online here.
For questions regarding interlibrary loan, you may contact Eric Earhart at eric-earhart@uiowa.edu or 319-335-8540.
Law faculty have access to Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw to use for their research and teaching. If you have trouble logging in to a service, please first attempt to reset your password. The systems do occasionally purge accounts that go unused over long periods, so if your password reset does not work and you need to arrange for access to one of these services, please contact Ellen Jones at ellen-jones@uiowa.edu or 319-335-0293.
The Law Library strives to provide an excellent collection of both print and electronic resources to support the research and teaching of the College of Law's faculty. While the Law Library is not able to purchase all resources, we do welcome your suggestions for additions to our collection.
To recommend materials for library purchase, please contact Don Ford at donald-ford@uiowa.edu or 319-335-9068.
If you would like to purchase a book using your faculty office account, please email our acquisitions teams at lawlib-acquisitions@uiowa.edu.
While these resources will be stored in your office for your use, will not be recalled, and do not have due dates, books purchased with your office account remain property of the University of Iowa and must be returned to the Law Library when you leave the University or when you are finished using the books.
If you would like to purchase an individual subscription to an online resource, such as the Wall Street Journal, please coordinate the purchase with your faculty assistant.
For questions about the Law Library's rare book collection, please contact Noëlle Sinclair at noelle-sinclair@uiowa.edu