InfoHawk+ is the catalog for the Law Library and the other libraries on campus. When you search InfoHawk+, you will find a drop-down option next to the search box. If you are searching for a book in the library’s collection, or are trying to determine whether the library subscribes to a certain journal, we recommend selecting the “Library Catalogs” search option. This option will search the collections of all University of Iowa libraries.
The “Library Catalogs + Articles” search option will search not only the collection of the University of Iowa Libraries, but will also search indexed articles. This search option tends to lead to many results, which can make finding the record for your particular book or journal more difficult. The indexing of articles in InfoHawk+ is also not comprehensive.
Law360 is a popular legal current awareness resource with news covering a variety of legal areas. You have two options for accessing Law360 when you are offsite.
You may access Law360 through this link, which will ask you to login using your HawkID and password. If you have a link to an individual Law360 article, you can add https://login.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url= to the beginning of your link (or use the Proxy Link Generator to create this link automatically).
Alternatively, you can link your Lexis credentials to your Law360 account, allowing for convenient off-campus access.
Many of the Law Library’s subscriptions are tied to our location, so when you access them from the College of Law, your access is seamless, but from home, you may need to take a few extra steps to get access.
When you hit a paywall for an academic journal article, try using the proxy link generator to create a link that will communicate to the website that you are accessing the resource through the University of Iowa’s subscription.
If this approach doesn’t work, we may still have access through another resource. Search the library’s catalog, InfoHawk+, for other access options. Using the “Catalogs + Articles” default search option, you may search for article by title. The indexing at the article level is not comprehensive, however, so if you are not able to locate the article by title, change the drop-down box next to the search bar in InfoHawk+ to “Library Catalogs” and search for the journal title. If you are having trouble with any of these search options, please reach out to Amy Koopmann at amy-koopmann@uiowa.edu.
While we have access to a variety of news articles through our subscription databases, direct access to online news websites is limited. University of Iowa students, faculty, and staff can register for New York Times access here.
Lexis+ has excellent news coverage, as does Factiva. For historical newspaper access, this research guide provides links to many of our subscription resources.
The Law Library provides access to Bloomberg Law, which has a docket search system that pulls documents from PACER. Bloomberg Law places both an individual and an institutional limit on how many documents may be requested from the system, based on cost, but this limit is such that in the regular course of retrieving select documents for your research, you should not reach the limit. Additionally, if the document has already been requested by another user, downloading this document does not count towards your limit (in this case you will see “View” next to the document instead of “Request”).
Lexis and Westlaw also offer docket options. At times you can find access to documents through Lexis and Westlaw that you cannot access through Bloomberg Law.
Your options in this situation depend on the resource to which you need to direct your students. For many of our databases, you can link directly to the article itself from your ICON course page. Please remember to use a link that will allow students to access the resource off campus.
If you need assistance determining whether your link will work for students off campus, or if you need assistance identifying resources for your course, reach out to the Law Library's Reference Service at lawlib-ref@uiowa.edu.
One option free to all members of the American Bar Association is the ABA’s CLE Library, which provides unlimited access to more than 500 online CLE programs.
You have two options for assigning CALI lessons:
If you link to the lesson in ICON, please make sure that you set the link to open in a new window. If your students have trouble accessing the link through ICON, recommend that they log in to CALI before accessing the link.