Using InfoHawk+
We are fortunate to have a fantastic collection of print and electronic resources available through our libraries. You can use InfoHawk+, the University of Iowa's library discovery tool, to search for relevant materials. For help using InfoHawk+ or locating items in the Law Library or other University of Iowa Libraries, visit the Circulation Desk and ask to be connected with a Reference Librarian, or check out this brief video with tips for using InfoHawk+ (login with HawkID and password required).
Call Number Assistance
Contact the Reference Department
Reference Services
The University of Iowa
Law Library
220 Boyd Law Building
Iowa City, IA 52242
Telephone: 319-335-9005
Fax: 319-335-9039
E-Mail: lawlib-ref@uiowa.edu
Telephone
You may request reference assistance by telephone at 319-335-9005 during regular reference hours. However, individuals requesting assistance in person receive priority.
E-Mail
The Reference Librarians offer e-mail service to enable members of the University of Iowa community to ask simple, direct questions (e.g. book or legal citation verifications, addresses, or telephone numbers).
Library Resources
- Law Library Research GuidesGuides to library resources in many areas of law.
- Faculty RA Training Session - Sept. 9, 2022Please email me at at ellen-jones@uiowa.edu after you watched the presentation, if you work for Professor Wing or Professor Gallanis.
Beyond Westlaw and Lexis
Journals and Indexes
- HeinOnline: Law Journal LibraryFull text PDF coverage of a broad selection of domestic and foreign law journals. Particularly good for historical research, as HeinOnline usually has the full run of any particular journal.
- LegalTracAnother index with a very good subject search and broad coverage. Some full text; use the InfoLink links to find full text available in other databases.
- Google ScholarGood way to easily search older materials and identify major articles. If you do your searching from a university network, articles available through the library will have direct links.
- Legal Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles by subject. Broader coverage than Westlaw or Lexis, but does not provide full text. Use the library catalog to look up a particular title.
Dockets and Court Documents
- Bloomberg LawBloomberg Law provides an excellent Dockets service. Members of the Law Community may access PACER documents using Bloomberg Law.
Legislative History
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowBills, laws, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, and more. This resource also allows full text access to Congressional Research Service reports published since 1916 and full text Congressional hearings from 1824-2003.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
This collection includes over 27,000 compiled federal legislative histories, ranging from the 1st Congress (1789 - 1791) to the current 114th Congress (2015 - 2016). It contains fully searchable PDFs of congressional publications related to select legislation, including public laws, all versions of related bills, excerpts of the Congressional Record, committee reports, committee hearing transcripts, committee prints, presidential signing statements, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports.